top of page

In the Waking Hours


These are the tough moments. When you wake up while your lover is still comfortable in the bedroom with the window unit. Your full-time job starts in an hour and you're hustling, trying to get something else done so can start making changes.

Making those changes definitely means sacrifice. There is no comfort in uprooting a job or lifestyle. Your whole goal is to disrupt, so you have to embrace that turbulence.

My whole consideration is moving into the life of a permanent freelancer, which is an extremely common title that can mean many different things. I want to copy write and article write and whatever write as my full-time gig. I want it to be my business. But if you poll a community of freelancers, they will all express the struggle. It will be express how hard it is to find work. And many of them have years of experience. It will be a life long battle until something hits right. You never know.

It's hard to bank on You Never Know, but this is one of those circumstances where the risk has no option but to pay off. Or totally fail....

For now, I'm going to keep repeating to myself this song "Do Anything You Wanna Do" by Thin Lizzy. It feels acceptable to take motivational advice from them.

And maybe that weird bird/rodent born in an egg picture will take on some significance about being someone who doesn't fit in or make sense, but goes to the party anyway...I may have to give that one some more thought.


 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page